Mayer tops the podium in Saalbach Hinterglemm Downhill

For the second time in his World Cup career, Matthias Mayer stood on the top step of the podium. Mayer used the speed that his HEAD skis had generated at the top of the course to good effect and held on to win ahead of Max Franz and Hannes Reichelt.
With the early racers having the better light, Mayer coped with the flat light well. Through the speed gun, Mayer posted 144kmh and having been on the wrong side of the clock explained after his run that he was “determined not to see red when he came through the finish.” Green by two hundredths was the reward for the hard work put in on the course.
Rainer Salzgeber commented after the race about Mayer: “What Matthias did today was amazing.” Salzgeber added: “What we have seen today is that alpine ski racing is an outdoor event, it is always tough and that you need to be at the start at the right moment. If you do not get some light then you need to ski much better than the others and that is what Matthias did today.”
After wowing the crowds with a spectacular jump in training, Adrien Theaux wowed them with a great run to take seventh in the race: “It was a tough course,” he explained, “as there were lots of ruts that you could not see. It was not easy to ski well but it is a challenging course.”
One place behind Theaux was Ben Thomsen. This was his best result of the season so far. “Normally on race day the course is a little faster and rougher so when you have flat light and the course got rougher than in training it was a huge difference. With racing you have to forget all that stuff and send your body down the hill and hope you do not get hurt,” he explained. “To get back in the top ten brought a lot of emotions,” Thomsen added.
Despite finishing 14th, Kjetil Jansrud remains in pole position in the season long race for the Downhill Globe. The win for Mayer has elevated him up to third in the rankings just ahead of Guillermo Fayed with Beat Feuz in sixth. Jansrud edged slightly closer to Hirscher in the race for the Overall but remains in second.



1. Matthias Mayer (AUT) HEAD
2. Max Franz
3. Hannes Reichelt
7. Adrien Theaux (FRA) HEAD
8= Ben Thomsen (CAN) HEAD
11. Guillermo Fayed (FRA) HEAD
14. Kjetil Jansrud (NOR) HEAD
16. Johan Clarey (FRA) HEAD
21. Beat Feuz (SUI) HEAD
24. Georg Streitberger (AUT) HEAD
25. Josef Ferstl (GER) HEAD
27. Blaise Giezendanner (FRA) HEAD



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *