Jansrud, Svindal and Myhrer stand on podium in Alta Badia

This was a new event for the World Cup and as a result there was a lot of thought going into the event. Two big rollers were build into the course and then another just before the finish. The racers had to rush back up the slope after each run. Aksel commented afterwards: “It was a little stressful, I always had to hurry to get back up to the top, but I think that’s kind of a part of the event, everything is high pace. That’s the way it has to be, high tempo all the way.”

With 32 racers taking part in the flood light event, the HEAD World Cup Rebels were well represented from both the speed and technical teams. Andrew Weibrecht was close to causing a sensation in the opening round. With World Cup points being offered towards the Overall Globe, the demise of Marcel Hirscher in the opening round opened up opportunities for Svindal and Jansrud.

The Quarter Finals saw Jansrud, Svindal, Myhrer all in action as well as Gino Caviezel, Alexis Pinturault and Mathieu Faivre – six HEAD World Cup Rebels in the eight spots! Ted Ligety had lost out in the first round.

Jansrud won an all HEAD first semi final and Svindal made his way to the final in the other semi by beating Dominik Schwaiger – Myhrer took the small final with Pinturault claiming fifth, Caviezel seventh and Faivre eighth.

Jansrud was happy to win the event, but even more to beat his teammate: “I’ve tried to beat him all year. I’ve been close a few times, but never really gotten there, but it’s a little absurd to finally beat him now in a new parallel discipline. It was absurd the two of us coming all the way to the finals, there were some good vibrations in the start knowing that the grand final was with two downhill Norwegians.”

With both Jansrud and Svindal gaining valuable points on Marcel Hirscher for the overall, this was a great night for the HEAD World Cup Rebels.



1. Kjetil Jansrud (NOR) HEAD
2. Aksel Lund Svindal (NOR) HEAD
3. Andre Myhrer (SWE) HEAD
5. Alexis Pinturault (FRA) HEAD
7. Gino Caviezel (SUI) HEAD
8. Mathieu Faivre (FRA) HEAD
11. Cyprien Richard (FRA) HEAD
21. Rasmus Windingstad (NOR) HEAD
24. Ted Ligety (USA) HEAD
29. Andrew Weibrecht (USA) HEAD




Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *