He is back! Svindal wins on return to the World Cup

From first in the opening training run, Svindal was consistently fast. Second and third training runs saw him post 5th and 2nd fastest times behind his fellow Rebel, Kjetil Jansrud. “I was definitively pushing it harder than in the training runs so it wasn’t that clean but that’s what happens when you are racing, you have to see where the limits are. I made a couple of mistakes that I thought would cost me more, luckily I was carrying good speed too and then I was a little bit surprised when I crossed the finish line, but it doesn’t matter as long as it is green,” Svindal explained after the race.

The race had kicked off with Ben Thomsen posting the rest time down the hill followed by Johan Clarey, who went faster. While Fill’s time was there to be bettered, Erik Guay was another making his comeback from injury as well as his debut as a World Cup Rebel. Guay posted the tenth best time.

As racers pushed themselves to the limit, winner of two of the training runs, and winner in Lake Louise last year, Kjetil Jansrud, made an uncharacteristic error at the top and from there was chasing the race. Jansrud finished in 9th place and explained it was ‘not the best day for me.’

As the top seeds started to come down, Guillermo Fayed, third in the Downhill standings from last season, took to the course right after Jansrud had failed to take his expected lead. Faced produced a confident and assured performance that saw him go into third at the time.

Matthias Mayer was the last of the top seeds to attack the course yet put the concern over his recent leg injury to rest with his performance: ”On the whole it was okay, it was a determined run. I’ve lost a lot of time in the run in to the finish.“ Mayer took eighth place.

Svindal is the man that captures the imagination and excitement of the speed races. To come back and win his first World Cup race in over a year, is true Rebel character.



1. Aksel Lund Svindal (NOR) HEAD
2. Peter Fill
3. Travis Ganong
4. Guillermo Fayed (FRA) HEAD
8. Matthias Mayer (AUT) HEAD
9. Kjetil Jansrud (NOR) HEAD
10. Erik Guay (CAN) HEAD
11. Adrien Theaux (FRA) HEAD
13. Johan Clarey (FRA) HEAD
21. Ben Thomsen (CAN) HEAD
22. Georg Streitberger (AUT) HEAD
24. Andrew Weibrecht (USA) HEAD
26. Josef Ferstl (GER) HEAD



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *